1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
  3. Skip to secondary content
  4. Skip to sidebar


  • Nuclear Power: A Viable Option For Electricity Generation

  • Nuclear Power Plant C-1 & C-2

    Karachi Nuclear Power Plant (KANUPP) Unit 1

    KANUPP is Pakistan's first nuclear power plant, inaugrated on November 28, 1972, with a total gross capacity of 137 MW.

  • Nuclear Power Plant C-3 & C-4

    Chashma Nuclear Power Generating Station (CNPGS)

    CNPGS hosts four nuclear power plants. These plants are based on Chinese Pressurized Water Reactor (PWR) technology. CNPGS Unit 1 (C-1) and Unit-2 (C-2) have a gross capacity of 325 MW each. C-1 started operation in 2000, while C-2 in 2011. CNPGS Unit 3 (C-3) and Unit-4 (C-4) both with gross capacity of 340 MW each started commercial operation in 2016 & 2017, respectively. All four nuclear plants at Chashma are under IAEA safeguards.

  • Nuclear Power Plant K-2 & K-3

    Karachi Nuclear Power Project Unit-2 (K-2) & Unit-3 (K-3)

    Construction of two nuclear power plants, K-2 and K-3 based on Chinese ACP1000 concept started in August 2015 and May 2016, close to the KANUPP site in the outskirts of Karachi city. ACP1000 is a state-of-the-art, 1100 MW, Gen-III design based on PWR. The units are scheduled to come online in 2020 and 2021. Both K-2 and K-3 are also under IAEA safeguard since March 2017.

K-2/K-3 Ground Breaking Ceremony

Chashma Unit-4 Dome Placement Ceremony

Power Sector - Pictorial History

Power Sector of PAEC